Of Poseidon – Anna Banks

Of Poseidon (The Syrena Legacy, #1)Of Poseidon by Anna Banks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

CAN WE JUST STOP FOR A MOMENT AND THINK ABOUT THIS BOOK, BECAUSE IT’S ONE OF THE MOST AMAZING MYTHOLOGY BASED NOVELS I HAVE READ IN SUCH A LONG TIME.

I read this in one sitting. I slept at 3:30 AM because of this book, and I woke up at 7 AM the next day. I’m operating on no sleep, but I CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT!!!!! Anna Banks should definitely stick to this genre. Although I may have not really appreciated her writing in the previous books I read, I’M DEFINITELY RECOGNIZING THE GOD GIVEN TALENT SHE WAS GIVEN. It’s either that or she’s an alien. I have no other answer. This first book is just a building block for book 2. That’s the reason why it seems a little stale at first. Because of that, I’ll be giving it a 4/5 Stars. I already finished reading book 2 before writing this review and giving it 5 Stars would be kind of biased given that I already read book 2 and am judging book 1 because of book 2. It’ll pick up a lot on the next book though. Promise.

Some thoughts:


-I LOVE THE PLOT. It’s a mix of mythology and romance with the right amount of both. I have read a lot of mermaid books, but this is definitely the winner. The plot gets so much better and better with each page.
-The characters have so much chemistry with each other. Whether they’re romantically involved, friends, or downright hate each other, Anna Banks makes it feel real.
-I love how the book has two POVs. We can see things from Emma’s side and how she’s responding to what she’s learning about herself and a whole other life she had no idea about. We can also see Galen’s view of things and how he slowly falls for Emma.
-Some of you thought… INSTALOVE!!! Actually, when you read Galen’s POV a bit deeper, you see that there was an attraction, but he just thought that it was because she was a Syrena. You can see that he just keeps thinking about her. He doesn’t actually realize that his attraction to her is romantic until BAM! He just does. It’s like they were always meant to be together. When that got into his head, there was no coming back. The attraction to each other is not instalove, because the author has a reason for it. True mates and all that… It actually reminds me of ‘mates’ for werewolfs, but it’s rare for a Syrena to find a true mate, and it’s not even proved… Yet.
-TORAFFFFFF!!!! ❤
-AND OHMYGOSH DID ANYONE EXPECT THAT TWIST IN THE END?!!? I DID NOT. I WAS NOT PREPARED. I WASN’T.

I just really think you should read this book. Seriously. I just finished the 2nd book of this series (Of Triton), and I’ll be posting a review of it soon.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

