Bookishly Ever After – Isabel Bandeira

Bookishly Ever After (Ever After, #1)Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5/5

I enjoyed reading this book. It was a cute, light read and had a unique main character.

Some thoughts:


-The plot was simple, but the quirky, book-loving, main character somehow made it unique. It’s not everyday you see a fellow quirky bookworm character that you can relate to.
-The first half of the book was okay. The pacing, the chemistry of the character… it was great, but as soon as it reached the 50% mark, it started going downhill pretty fast- at least for me. It went downhill in a way that you start getting annoyed at the characters, the pacing get draggy, and the plot becomes too… annoying? I don’t even know if you can describe a plot as annoying. Can you do that?
-At the half mark of the book, the main character goes from a cute, quirky, bookworm, to a dense, needy, and VERY VERY annoying character. I lost count of how many times I said annoying. She’s too sensitive, and I don’t think she even thinks at all. THE GUY LIKES YOU! STOP BEING STUPID! Her obliviousness goes from cute to stupid in a snap, and I really hated that.
-I love how Devon can put up with her though… He was sooooo obvious, BUT SHE STILL CAN’T REALIZE THAT HE’S INTO HER!!!

I really liked the idea of the author, but maybe she could have planned the story out better? I think that given time, the author can still develop her writing. It’s not quite there yet, she has a lot of potential for a YA Contemporary writer. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

