Meet Me Here – Bryan Bliss

Meet Me HereMeet Me Here by Bryan Bliss

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Really good book. I liked it, which is weird… I don’t know if any of you would like this too, but read down below to find out more about the book.

Some thoughts:

-This book was missing a lot of descriptions (What was Mallory’s hair color, what was Thomas’s eye color, what did their neighborhood look like), basic fill in the blanks. IT was hard to imagine the book in my head, but the story made up for it.
-This book is written from the leading male ,Thomas’s POV. Guy POVs are hard to come by, but this one was written beautifully. It shows the emotions he’s feeling from problems going on with Jake, his family (especially his dad), and his decision to go to the army.
-You’ll think that it’s a childhood best friends that grew apart but will fall in love AT FIRST. Let me say that NO ROMANCE is going on between the two main characters. Which is why it’s weird that I like the book, because usually I don’t like books without romance in it…
-The book is vague about what happened to Jake and what happened with Mallory and Will. This adds excitement while reading the book and an urge to finish it.
-It’s more of a motivational book more than a YA Contemporary.
-It actually makes you think about what happens beyond high school and your decisions about what path you should take.
-It seems like a light read at first, kind of like Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between. Until you realize that it’s waaaay different. Meet Me Here deals with more serious issues than a normal YA Contemporary.
-The story gets a little weird at a point when Mallory and Will suddenly take off, and we don’t know what happens to her part of the story, but after a while I found this part to be really well written. I think the author is trying to portray that since the book is in Thomas’s POV, we only know up to what he sees or thinks. Mallory’s part of the story won’t be explained really well, and I think the author had lots of skill for doing that.
-It’s hard to understand this book until you reach the end and even then I didn’t totally understand it, but it was worth it. I think the author left it at an open ending on purpose for us to think about/ guess what Mallory and Thomas will do with their lives from that point onwards.

Honestly, I really liked this book. A lot. It was such a beautiful book, and I think you should read it. It’s very unique and unlike any other book I’ve read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

