Gilded Cage – Vic James

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts, #1)Gilded Cage by Vic James

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Thank you to Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine for providing me with an ARC of Vic James’s newest book Gilded Cage in exchange for an honest review.

I’ll be trying a different form of a review for this book. Instead of finishing the entire book then reviewing it, I’ll be reviewing it as I read on. So think of his review as something like a journal entry. Per day that I read it, I’ll type up an entry including the date, which chapters I read, and my thoughts on them. Hope you’ll enjoy!

02/04/17
Chapters 1-7
-I literally can’t breathe as I’m reading, and I’m looking away from the book for a few seconds to type this down. What’s funny is that it’s just the prologue, and I’m already at the edge of my seat. I can definitely say that I’ve been hooked, and hopefully the story goes on at the same speed.
-There’s a certain intrigue to the characters even without knowing that them well yet. I can already tell that I’ll be forming some sort of emotional attachment to them. I don’t know what kind, but it will be there.

02/05/17
Chapters 8-12
-The story’s progressing really nicely with only a few stale parts here and there. It’s not an odd thing in a book to have a few boring parts as this builds the story up. I can say that it’s a good kind of filler though.
-Is it possible to already be in love with some of the characters this early on in the book? I’m already somehow wishing that I could live in their world. (Without the slavery, of course. Just the parts wherein people have badass powers and can blow stuff up.)
-I really really need to mention the multiple POVs. Not just 2 or 3, but more. I can’t get over how the POVs change in this story, because even minor characters get their own POV. Maybe they seem unimportant to me right now, but I’m excited to see how their character will affect the storyline.

02/06/17
Chapters 13-20
-The story’s building up so much and it’s hard to keep up. You may want to read a chapter again if you’re not so sure that you understood it. It’s definitely challenging to read, but I’m they type of reader that actually likes taking time to understand a plot.
-Even if it’s a bit confusing, I didn’t get into a reading slump because it’s just so exciting.

02/07/17
Chapters 21-22
-I think if I didn’t have classes, I would have finished this book in a day, maybe two.
-I’m just really satisfied with this book. When it does come out on February 14, make sure you guys get a copy. I sure will. You definitely won’t be disappointed if you give some of your time to read this book.
-AND THE TWIST. My goodness. I won’t speak of it too much because I’ll end up spoiling. If you want to find out, you better read!
-Everything was well written, the descriptions were vivid but not overdone. The characters were all amazing. It really felt like they were real. The book was a perfect mix of mystery, power, romance, and intrigue, and I loved it. It’s been so long since I’ve read such a complex book without getting bored. Happy reading! โค

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

